Milan Pact Awards (MPA)

Stimulate the exchange of practices

Designed by
Designed by

One of the most important goals of the Milan Urban Food Policy Pact (MUFPP), is to stimulate the exchange of practices and learning between signatory cities. To foster this collaboration the MUFPP Secretariat, together with Fondazione Cariplo  launched the Milan Pact Awards.

The first Milan Pact Awards was presented at the annual gathering of mayors hosted in Rome by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) during the celebration of World Food Day in October 2016. Milan Pact Awards seeks to be innovative in the ways it supports cities’ efforts to strengthen urban food systems and adapt as needs of signatory cities change. The recognition and profile that comes with conferring awards for good practice has been shown to help catalyse change between cities that are more experienced and cities that are just beginning to work in the area of food as it relates to other priorities of mayors.


Scope of the MUFPP Award

Submissions from signatory cities will be sought in relation to the MUFPP and its Framework for Action (FFA) according to a set of awards criteria. In addition to formal recognition of winning cities there will be awards designed to stimulate learning for action across cities in different stages of food policy and planning.


Types of recognition and awards

There are two types of awards:

Six practices will be awarded with special mention awards as the highest scoring practice in each of the six categories of the Framework for Action.
Two practices will be awarded with two monetary prizes of EUR 15.000 each to be used for peer-to-peer technical assistance to other MUFPP city/cities:
a) The practice/policy with the highest overall score of the five criteria (Adaptability, Integration, Innovation, Impact and Inclusion) will be the winner of the Highest Score Award.

b) The practice/policy with the highest score from multiplying their score of the five above mentioned criteria with the sixth criteria (Adversity) will be the winner of the Challenging Environment Award.


Principles, requirements, categories and criteria for selection

Principles guiding design of Milan Pact Awards include:

  • The awards are a means to stimulate learning and action, not an end in themselves.
  • Award criteria will be designed to meet a wide variety of city types and scales.
  • Award submissions that are not finalists for awards will still add to the growing body of good practices in the areas of food policy and planning.
  • Awards will recognize practices that are both unique and replicable, innovative and linked to other parallel advances in urban and territorial sustainability.


Categories for awards:

  • Governance or ensuring an enabling environment for effective action
  • Sustainable diets and nutrition
  • Social and economic equity
  • Food production including urban rural linkages
  • Food supply and distribution
  • Food waste prevention, reduction and management


Criteria for selection

All submissions will be evaluated according to five criteria, that are:

  1. Adaptability: capability for replication or adaptation of the practice or policy to other city and territorial or even national contexts.
  2. Integration: degree to which the policy or policy from the Pact and FFA has been integrated with other categories of food policy or practice.
  3. Innovation: the level of innovation of the practice or policy compared to the known state of urban food systems development.
  4. Impact: the degree at which the practice or policy can be demonstrated to substantially address social and economic equity for vulnerable populations in the target jurisdiction(s), including the value-to-benefit impact.
  5. Inclusion: policy or practice developed with active participation of actors outside of local or territorial governments such as civil society and private sector.

A further criteria will be used as multiplier of the total points gathered in the first five ones in order to decide the winner of the Challenging Envinronment Award. This criteria is:

Adversity: the extent to which adverse conditions (administrative, environmental, economic etc.) have had to be overcome in the development of a city’s food policy or practice.


In order to submit a food policy or practice to be considered for the Milan Pact Awards, cities must:

  1. have signed the Milan Urban Food Policy Pact
  2. select one to three food policies and/or practices from their city and/or territory
  3. complete one Submission Form per policy and/or practice
  4. attach the letter of conveyance signed by the Mayor on municipal letterhead
  5. submit form(s), letter and any added documentation

Read more about the winners of the 2016 Milan Pact Awards